Sumei is an isolated Druze village in the center of the Upper Galilee, west of Peqi’in on Route 854.
Sumei is identified with the Jewish settlement mentioned in the Talmud called Kfar Sima, which was inhabited during the Second Temple period.
Kfar Sima was one of the largest in the Akko region during the Roman-Byzantine period, and during the Crusader period, the village belonged to the fortress of the Crusader king in Mi’ilya.
Events & Attractions:
In the village, there is a military cemetery with a memorial to the fallen soldiers.
A number of holy sites can be found there, including two Druze Khlawat (prayer houses), two churches, the tomb of Sheikh Khalil Tafesh and Sheikh Al-Fadl, who is considered one of the greatest Druze clerics of all time. He was born in 1577 in the village of al-Sha’ira, west of the Hermon. He studied in Damascus and lived in the village of Kokhba in Wadi al-Atim.
Near the village, you can also find the Rock Park – a unique and amazing geological nature phenomenon, the act of wind and rain. The park is made of huge rocks rich in limestone layers. Rainwater, wind, and vegetation created beautiful and varied shapes in the rock. The phenomenon is called karst. This is how magnificent and strange natural sculptures were created: columns, mushroom-shaped rocks, and caves.
The park area was used for many years as a local dump. The site was discovered by accident, cleared and developed by the Tourism Ministry.
Each year, the village hosts the olive branch festival, guided tours of olive groves, olive picking, visits to olive presses, olive oil tasting workshops, visits to visitor centers, poetry evenings, cosmetics workshops, stands and authentic dishes for the entire family.
Transportation in the Sumei area is based on inter-city buses, taxis, and private cars.